You Are Here: Home » Administrative Units » Agencies » North Waziristan Agency

North Waziristan Agency

North Waziristan borders South Waziristan, FR Bannu, FR Karak, Hangu, Kurram Agency and Afghanistan. Its capital is Miranshah and other major towns include Mir Ali and Razmak. It consists of three sub-divisions and nine Teshils. The population of North Waziristan is estimated to be 840,000. Its total land area is 4,707 square kilometers. It is an extremely conservative area socially and religiously. Major tribes include the Utmanzai and the Dawars. There are dozens of militant groups operating in the area. The major ones include Gul Bahadur Group, Tehrik-i-Taliban Pakistan (TTP), Haqqani Network, Islamic Movement of Uzbikistan (IMU), Islamic Jihad Group (IJG), Punjabi Taliban and the Abu Akasha Iraqi Group. Mullah Nazir is an ally of Gul Bahadur Group and TTP here.

© 2012 FATA Research Center. Powered By HostNext Web Solutions

Scroll to top